Skip to main content

It is with great excitement that we honor these extraordinary individuals who demonstrate exemplary passion and commitment to our students with the Driver Award! We are so pleased to present this year’s Driver Award to the Jamie and Denise Jacob Family Foundation and Dave Richards (in loving memory).

Jamie and Denise Jacob Family Foundation

Since becoming involved with the Midnight Golf Program in 2015, there have been no individuals more responsible for the growth of the program than Jamie and Denise Jacob.

Jamie’s journey of leadership and commitment famously began when he was invited by MGP Vice President, David Gamlin to attend MGP’s Pinning Ceremony in 2015 and was immediately inspired by the program and its young people. Jamie started as a mentor, eventually becoming the program’s Board Chairman in 2017. Along with his wife, Denise, the Jacob Family Foundation has invested more than $1.5 million into the Midnight Golf Program.

Thanks to their involvement and generosity, Midnight Golf has doubled the cohort size for the Life Skills & Mentorship Program and established the Making Graduation Possible Program, removing for countless students the barriers to graduate college and embark on a meaningful career.

Dave Richards

Dave Richards devoted his 30-year career to promoting the game of golf and had a particular passion for ensuring that Midnight Golf Program students could experience golf and all its lifelong benefits. In his role operating Bloomfield Hills-based Resort & Golf Marketing, he worked with clients at all levels of the golf industry and gave so much and so willingly to MGP through the years. Dave was also instrumental in working with renowned golf course architect and advisory board member, Tom Doak, to create a practice course at Marygrove College, which was completed in the Fall of 2011.

Dave passed away in June. His wife, Denise, Tom Doak, long-time friend and MGP Head Golf Pro, Glenn Pulice, and Michigan PGA Executive Director, Kevin Helm, will be accepting this award on his behalf.

The Driver Award Honorees will be recognized at our 20th Anniversary Celebration on September 23, 2021.