Skip to main content

Name: Haley Dishman

MGP Class: Class of 2019

Occupation: 1st year PhD student at Vanderbilt University studying semiconductor device physics focused on Gallium Nitride HEMTs(High Electron Mobility Transistors)

Your background: I am recent graduate of Alabama Agricultural and Mechanical University where I maintained Magna Cum Laude status while obtaining my bachelor’s degree in Electrical Engineering with a concentration in VLSI (microelectronics). This was not the path I would have expected for myself as a high school senior. I accredit a big portion of my success on this path to MGP. In high school I was far from the top of my class and had no idea what college I wanted to go to or even what to major in. MGP gave me the opportunity to network with administration through the Road Trip for Success. I was able to obtain in-state tuition on top merit scholarship to attend school out of state. The only thing I needed to do was close the remaining financial gap. MGP blessed me with scholarships which paid for my first year of college. I was also able to make connections with assistant Dean of the college of Engineering who fortunately helped fund the next three years of college. I am truly appreciative of MGP for stressing the importance of building and maintaining relationships. By maintaining my relationships with professors and the administration, I was gifted with the opportunity to further my education fully funded at Alabama A&M. MGP provided the building blocks for me to build with. The life lessons I learned at Marygrove every Monday and Wednesday have helped shape me to be the professional I am.

Success Story and Highlights: I was hand selected for the PhD program fully funded at Vanderbilt University, while applying for a Master’s Program. During my college career, I’ve been awarded the following: Vanderbilt University Russel G. Hamilton Scholar, Vanderbilt University Nanoguide, TMCF Apple Scholar 2022-23, New Silicon Initiative Scholar 2022-23 for Alabama Agricultural and Mechanical University, Alabama Space Grant Consortium Scholar 2023.